English | Deutsch

Art projects: Music for "Roulette"
Short Description of the composition of Lisa Schmitz´ "Roulette" in the Gemäldegalerie Berlin

“The entire piece of music consists of three different stereo layers which run on a permanent, parallel basis as 10, 11 and 12 minute loops (in this way, their specific configuration is only repeated for the viewer or listener after 22 hours at the soonest).

The 1st layer is determined by a structure of rhythm (developed from the single beat of a drum) which becomes continually and steadily faster. After 3 minutes, this accelerando has reached its (extremely rapid) climax, and over the course of an equal length of time - in a continual and steady rallentando - it develops back to its starting point. This is directly followed by a variation on this sequence, in which the basic rhythm gradually grows completely “out of step”. In both parts, the tone develops continually from deep, almost muffled drum-like sounds into a hard, high, metallic tone - and back again. The principle of composition consists of constant permutations of the eight musical rhythms 3/4, 11/16, 5/8, 9/16, 2/4, 7/16, 3/8 and 3/16.

The 2nd layer is manifest in a structure of chord groups which (controlled by chance, although they may appear “directed”) continually move towards a kind of compact group formation - or to put it another way: continually “flowing”, polyphone groups of chords are “broken up” more and more, developing into individual, more and more isolated phenomena.

The 3rd layer is a rhythmic and tonal variation on the second: to a certain extent, the sound materials are forced to “bend”, to become “concentrated” and as it were to “weld together”. In the process, a continual tonal development takes place from deep metallic to brassy, high metallic, wooden, glassy to stony - and back again.

These three layers form one (the central) musical “cord” (of a total of three), which is assigned to the nine “middle” video sequences by Lisa Schmitz. A version compressed by 35% “accompanies” the nine video sequences arranged on the right-hand side of the room, a version extended by 30% accompanies the slower sequences positioned on the left in the room. Thus when the visitor in the room is exactly parallel to the different image sequences, his/her interactive movements trigger the music assigned to these.”

Hans Ulrich Humpert

Programme: Reading of Lisa Schmitz

  WissensKünste II: Pictures beyond the picture
  Short interview with Olaf Arndt
  Art as Science - Science as Art: Start of a project
  Art projects: Music for "Roulette"
  Art projects: "Roulette" of Lisa Schmitz
  Detlef B. Linke: "Everyone is a scientist"

Museumsinformation Berlin: 030-24 74 98 88